Anne Rice’s Favorite Poem: Holy Sonnet XIV by John Donne

A circular logo with a silhouette of a woman in the middle holding her finger to her mouth as if to say, shhhh.

Secretum Meum Mihi Press

Anne Rice’s Favorite Poem: Holy Sonnet XIV by John Donne

Batter my heart, three-person’d God, for you
As yet but knock, breathe, shine, and seek to mend;
That I may rise and stand, o’erthrow me, and bend
Your force to break, blow, burn, and make me new.
I, like an usurp’d town to another due,
Labor to admit you, but oh, to no end;
Reason, your viceroy in me, me should defend,
But is captiv’d, and proves weak or untrue.
Yet dearly I love you, and would be lov’d fain,
But am betroth’d unto your enemy;
Divorce me, untie or break that knot again,
Take me to you, imprison me, for I,
Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.

John Donne, Volume I (E.K. Chambers, ed.) London: Lawrence & Bullen, 1896, page 165.

BONUS CONTENT – usually only for premium subscribers!

Try out MY SECRET STRENGTH BOOK CLUB-

May 9 (2nd Thursday) at

12noon pm EDT / 11 AM CDT / 10 AM MDT / 9 AM PDT

Topic: A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen (from previous newsletter)

Join My Secret is Mine Studio on Riverside FM as an audience member. You are free to watch the livestream, and if you have a question, click the button to ask it, LIVE, during our show!

Want to read the whole issue in one sitting? Interested in joining our bible studies or book club sessions? MY SECRET IS MINE newsletter is also available to paid subscribers as a PDF download.

Only $8/month!

$8.00 / month

My Secret is Mine Newsletter – Premium

Advance copy of the current month’s newsletter by PDF

ONE free archive PDF download coupon per month

Audience access to… Read more

Related Newsletters